5 Declarations to Improve Your Financial Situation Now

“Egad, Brain!”

sleeping-labrat

Remember when Pinky used to make this exclamation to his power-hungry partner in the 90s cartoon “Pinky and the Brain”? That’s how I feel when I realise that the year is near done (and that I haven’t posted in sooo long!). It’s so crazy, but we all know that time waits on NO ONE. That being said, now is as good a time as ever to post, and make sure that Merry Sole still has some life in it. The truth is, work had me crazy busy the last few months, and I made a hot mess of managing my time. Having graduated in October made me reflect, “How come I’m doing such a sucky job now and before I used to do all this and still prepare for exams or write a thesis??” Maybe I have to re-adjust to life without the pressure. It makes me think of how the the ground can have cracks forming when layers of overlying rock are removed. (Couldn’t help that one – I teach Geography!)

One thing that has really got my attention now is money. Specifically, how I can improve my financial situation – less debt, more savings, more investments, more peace of mind. I’ve got nearly 100 pins on Pinterest that take me to these great sites with loads of financial advice. But I still haven’t put into action all the advice I read. To be honest, the road to financial freedom seems so scary at times, with all the sacrificing and discipline that will be necessary. But the thought of financial security is so blissful, it makes everything seem worthwhile to achieve it. I just need some help getting on the road and staying on it!

Since it’s already been acknowledged that there is undeniable power in words that we speak, I looked for some Bible verses that I can say that would effect positive change both the spiritual and the physical. I’ve learned that sometimes people struggle with things not simply because they are weak, but because of negative spiritual forces working specifically against them. If that’s the case for me, I can’t say for certain, but it’s better to be proactive. And the only solution is to fight spiritual with spiritual! Undoubtedly, words can do a lot in the spiritual world, so I’ll share some of the verses I encountered so far:

  1. Be determined and confident, and don’t be afraid of the Assyrian emperor or of the army he is leading. We have more power on our side than he has on his. (2 Chronicles 32:7 -TEV)

Hezekiah saw that the army attacking his kingdom was great, but knew that having God on his side to help him and his army was way more arsenal than the Assyrians could ever have. When financial struggles seem like a treacherous mountain, it’s great to know that we have a greater force working alongside us. Declare that you are determined and confident, and not afraid of debt or creditors or whatever, because you have more power on your side than against it. 

  1. Thou, which has shewed me great and sore troubles, shalt quicken me again, and shalt bring me up again from the depths of the earth. (Psalms 71:20 – KJV)

The writer of this Psalm had some serious rough patches in life and was probably near death, or at least felt that way. Amazingly, he seems to have no trouble believing that God will restore the life and vitality to him, the same way He can restore credit scores, savings and whatever else is necessary.

  1. If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him. (James 1:5 – KJV)

However a person defines success, wisdom is at the foundation of it. We all know that we need to make wise decisions with our money in order to reap fruitful financial reward. Very often, we don’t know what the wise decision is, but the Word clearly says that you just have to ask God, and you will get it. I change up the verse a bit to say that I have the wisdom to make the right decisions with whatever money I have. 

  1. So then, as often as we have the chance, we should do good to everyone, and especially to those who belong to our family in the faith. (Gal. 6:10 – TEV)

This verse is really important. It’s so easy to get caught up on the road to financial recovery that selfishness can step in – a mindset that I can’t afford to give anything because I have to maximize every possible dollar to help myself. But that’s definitely NOT the way Jesus instructed us to live. Obviously, I’m not giving away everything I have at the drop of a hat, but if there’s someone in genuine need, or that little inside voice is constantly telling you to give someone something, there’s an opportunity not to be missed. There are more benefits to giving than receiving, so declare that as often as you have the chance, that you will do good to everyone.

  1. By humility and the fear of the Lord are riches and honour and life. (Proverbs 22:4 -NKJV)

Money is not the be all and end all. Reputation and character are important. Simply having life is important. And the quality of these things is improved when we focus not on them, but on God, and obey and respect him and what he stands for. Repeating this verse makes sure that we don’t get the wrong perspective of things. 

It might seem a little crazy, but these declarations work. I feel so much more hopeful about money matters when I say them, not overwhelmed or discouraged. Furthermore, about 2 weeks after I started saying them on an almost daily basis, I got a cheque in the mail for over $1300.00!!! I kid you not. I wasn’t expecting it. I didn’t apply for anything. I never filled out any competition forms. Nothing.

The new year is fast approaching and you may have a resolution or two to work on your finances. But in case you’re financially secure already or money is not the main issue for you but something else – no worries. These verses work for any situation :D.

P.S. Please feel free to share if you already have your own declarations, or a habit that you have that keeps you focused on building your finances.

Leave a Reply

