3 New Year Must-Haves

3 cats

Happy new year, all! It’s nearly the end of a whole month and I’m only now writing my first post of the year. Ha! And the funny thing about it is that I’ve been receiving quite a few emails and pinning several pins, all to do with improving my blogging in 2016. Smh…lol. I have to laugh, otherwise, I might become overwhelmed and become another statistic. I don’t want to be that blogger that couldn’t even make 10 posts, that couldn’t last 6 months, let alone a year.

Speaking of year, 2016 seems to be a pretty hopeful one. Granted, I think most people tend to have a positive outlook when they have to change their calendar. Just the thought of something new is enough to invigorate even the most faithless of hearts. But I think there’s still something special about this year.

For one thing, the number of times I’ve heard the word Jubilee in the last 24 days has increased exponentially, enough times for me to know that in the Christian realm, this is the year of Jubilee. In case you have no idea what that means, it’s pretty much the year of restoration. Back in Old Testament days (check Leviticus 25), every 50 years, possessions were returned to people and people were freed from bondage. If something bad happened to you during this year, someone would be there to help you, without expecting to profit from helping you. As if that weren’t enough, it was also a year of extraordinary provision – the land was to be left in fallow, but the previous year would always provide enough food to last through the entire period of rest.

There’s something really invigorating about knowing that there is a special time set aside when regardless of what happens, you know that everything is going to be taken care of. There’s something pretty relaxing about it, too. It’s just short of feeling invincible. Now, I’m no theologian, so I can’t tell you exactly when the first Jubilee was, to prove the Maths/History that this year is Jubilee year now. I’m taking it by faith, which, I’m 99.2% certain, just highly irritated anybody who always questions the Bible or anything excessively spiritual. But how can anyone live without faith? Nothing in life is guaranteed; we all, knowingly or unknowingly, live by faith that we’ll get to our destination safely when we leave home, or that we’ll live to see the next day. It’s not meant to sound depressing, just to show how vital faith really is to our existence. And that if we have faith, we are able to have hope, because we are expectant and believe that there is something good coming. If we have hope, then we always have something to be joyful about. Sure, stuff happens that can be offsetting and really put a spoke in our wheel, but joy is not circumstantial or superficial. We can be happy one minute, and sad the next, but joy is that underlying, deep-seated feeling that that guides our purpose in life and helps us keep our bearings regardless of how things might seem.

I think I just went off on a philosophical tangent that I really didn’t plan, but I’m a “roll-with-the-punches” kinda gal. Kinda like me and this blog. But in all seriousness, I do have some goals for Merry Sole this year. Sharing them is making me feel kinda queasy – I’m holding myself accountable to my readers! (The way that sounds, you’d think I had a boatload of them.)

Anywhosie, the plan is to:

  • post at least 3 times a month
  • find and connect with more bloggers
  • create some downloadable content by July
  • write an e-book
  • get some more readers! (probably should have put that as number one)

Sounds like a handful, I bet. I’m being hopeful, peoples. I’ll be needing plenty faith to get through that list. But the joy that comes from writing, even after being MIA for weeks, is irreplaceable. Now, I must hit this ‘Publish’ button and get back to my thesis, to make the last hour here in this classroom worthwhile, and not give in to the idea that I’m going to edit when I get home.

By the way, I just realised that today is the 25th of January. HAPPY HALF-BIRTHDAY, MERRY SOLE! Today is the 6-month anniversary! I’m officially not a statistic!!

Have a faith-riddled, hope-filled, joy-packed year!

 

 

One thought on “3 New Year Must-Haves

Leave a Reply

